Opiniones de Wolfram Mathematica

Sobre Wolfram Mathematica

Sistema de cómputo técnico que proporciona herramientas para el procesamiento de imágenes, geometría, visualización, aprendizaje de máquinas, minería de datos y mucho más.

Descubre más sobre Wolfram Mathematica

Puntos a favor:

Its great for visualizing the data and creating/viewing both 2D and 3D graphs. Ideal for technical computing.

Contras:

While Mathematica doesn't have the worst error checking I've seen in some programming languages, it lacks on-the-fly error checking.

Valoraciones de Wolfram Mathematica

Evaluación media

Facilidad de uso
4,2
Atención al cliente
4,2
Funcionalidades
4,7
Relación calidad-precio
4,2

Probabilidad de recomendación

8,3/10

Wolfram Mathematica tiene una valoración global de 4,6 estrellas sobre 5 según las 159 opiniones de usuarios de Capterra.

¿Ha utilizado Wolfram Mathematica antes?

Comparte tu experiencia con otros compradores de software.

Filtrar opiniones (159)

Rafael Dario
Rafael Dario
Docente Tecnico en Ecuador
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Investigación, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Excelente Herramienta de Análisis Numérico

5,0 hace 3 días Nuevo

Puntos a favor:

Es una excelente herramienta que permite aplicar diferentes análisis numéricos y expresiones algorítmicas con un alto grado de adaptabilidad dependiendo del contexto del análisis que se esta presentado, el cual puede ser estadístico, diferencial, imaginario etc.

Contras:

Como usuario no permite visualizar los resultados dependiendo de la orientación del problema ingresa, ya que te daba resultado como arista de respuesta. Lo que no permite una respuesta rápida debido a la busueda de la respuesta idónea que otorga.

Harald
CEO en Dinamarca
Investigación, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

What would we do without it?

5,0 hace 2 meses

Comentarios: Mathematica is used as a "canned data" version to process RADAR data. Of course it cannot do real time but that is not the requirement. With Mathematica we have a tool to see almost instantaneously if any new idea has a perspective to work or not. I am personally using Mathematica since 1990 using the "good old" Version 1.2 on a MacIntosh...

Puntos a favor:

It is a really sturdy workhorse for any purposes. We do lots of RADAR data evaluations, FEM simulations, recently also NN modelling. The general strategy is to implement an algorithm in Mathematica and use this as a benchmark when the same algorithm will be transferred to c++. In contrast to other commercial available packages the output of integral transforms can be adapted to the culture (e.g. signal processing versus mathematical parameter sets for Fourier transform) and we get exactly the envisaged behavior. Generally, one can get algorithmic packages to run in one working day that take a man month to be implemented in c++. In addition, we have own packages to generate Gantt charts, project plans, 3D printer code, PCB circuit layouts.

Contras:

Documentation is a bit thin, especially newly added functions tend to be poorly described. Neural Networks work fine but the description of the details is dismal! Please improve with some example networks. It took us eternities to grasp the stuff. Plotting even moderately complex 3D Regions (implicit or discretized) is very unstable and it is really a nuisance. It mostly ends with error messages and a complete breakdown of the kernel...

Jonathan
Graduate Student en EE. UU.
Investigación, 10.000+ empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Engineering Grad Student Review of Mathematica

4,0 hace 3 años

Comentarios: Overal really useful if you know how to use it and particularly strong at analytical calculus and symbolic equations. Otherwise the language is a little clunky. If more people used it, it would be more valuable.

Puntos a favor:

Mathematica is really great at solving symbolic math equations. Unrivaled in my opinion. Analytical solving is a breeze with this and it is intuitive how it all appears, as if you wrote it on a sheet of paper. That is its best feature. Otherwise it has a lot of really cool math functionality for analzying data. I particularly have used it for signal processing.

Contras:

Well it is like learning another programming language so you have to get over that barrier. It is hit or miss with other people who know how to read the software or even use it. The only reason I used it was because I found Wolfram Alpha online as an undergrad and when I became a grad student I found out the previous grad students used it. I'd say its programming language is a little clunky, compared to some competitors. And its not open software.

Nuwan Chaminda
Graduate Teaching Assistant, MSU en EE. UU.
Investigación, 5.001-10.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Very helpful for theorists in their research fields

5,0 hace 3 años

Comentarios: As I am doing my research in the field of Quantum electron transportation calculations, it's very easy to do all my calculations and most important thing is that it helps us a lot to analyze all my results well. As we solve the matrices which are having a higher degree, it doesn't matter since we have Mathematica. It simplifies everything, all electron transportation calculation we have. because other methods, such as the Green Function method and Scattering methods are much more complex!

Puntos a favor:

It's easy to use as it provides more helpful manuals in the Wolfram site. If you can not understand some code, then you may click on 'help' and very easily you can find the meaning of the respective code. Plus, there are many more functions available to analyze, to do much harder calculations, to draw graphs, etc. It helps a lot in our Quantum Mechanics projects as once we analyzed the Icing Model using Mathematica.

Contras:

To be honest, I like almost everything in Wolfram Mathematica. The appearance of the software is great, and the work is very good and there are many more advantages of Mathematica. However, to improve, I think it's better to have some way to simply some of the codes in Mathematica. Anyway, as the users, that's also not a problem. Mathematica, simply one of the most powerful software we are using.

Serdar
Game Developer en Alemania
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
Fuente de la reseña

The graphic drawing with Wolfram Mathematica in mathematics is a craft

5,0 hace 4 semanas Nuevo

Comentarios: Overall, It provides great convenience in symbolic operations and graphic drawings, it is far superior to matlab with these features. but there are such equations that mathematica can't solve for hours. If you are working with fractional numbers, the rationalize command shortens the processing time quite a bit.

Puntos a favor:

Especially drawing complex graphics can create a masochistic pleasure in people. Unlike matlab, which almost industrialized the graphic drawing business, creating graphics in mathematica is a craft. all the coordinates are entered manually (at one point they came to the mercy and put the 3d viewpoint selector command on the input menu, but there you see only the axes, not what you drew, the rest is up to your imagination). The handiwork that comes out at the end is brilliant, you can't help showing it to your friends.

Contras:

Although it is a software that I greatly appreciate, it can sometimes drive me crazy with the error sentences it gives. opening and closing the program from time to time can be useful. It needs to be emptied when the memory is full, otherwise it gives more errors in new calculations.

Usuario verificado
PhD Student en Suiza
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Educación superior, 1.001-5.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña

The best symbolic math software, with a learning curve

5,0 hace 4 años

Puntos a favor:

Mathematica is the go-to software when manipulating mathematical expressions that must be solved, simplified, visualized, modelled, etc. It defines an entire language dedicated to writing expressions precisely, with the option to write them with math symbols (e.g. sum, product, etc) or more similar to other programming language. Particularly useful is the symbolic differentiation feature, which is easy and intuitive to use. Many more advanced and domain-specific features are available, and keep being added at each release (yearly). There is a 'cloud' version of the software which can run Mathematica notebooks in the browser, making it possible to make quick checks without a full installation.

Contras:

The Wolfram language's syntax and patterns is unlike any that I've seen, and so becoming proficient with Mathematica isn't just a matter of a few hours. Thankfully, the built-in help (reference manual) and tutorials are of great quality, and come with many practical example. The dedicated StackExchange community is also a great resource. Contributing to the difficulty is the fact that certain expressions will be handled (e.g. simplified or factorized) by Mathematica more easily than others, even though it feels like they should be equivalent. It is sometimes necessary to expand an expression, then simplify and factor it again in order to solve it again. Despite the support for many, many domain-specific features, working with vectors and matrices is still painful. When not part of a university or ineligible for discounts, the price may be high, depending on the intended use.

Emanuela
Emanuela
Junior PM en Italia
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Construcción, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Prueba gratis
Fuente de la reseña

Differential geometry problems visualisation

5,0 hace 4 meses

Comentarios: The latest version is packed with advanced algorithms in geometring computing and is develope geometric computation. Wolfram Mathematica version13 is a package of symbolic mathematics wich integretes cartesian geometry and euclidean geometry, parametric geometry and differential geometry. The new features emphasize shapes and performance and let me to easily model geometric regions and analyze them. For the first time I can to fully integrate generation, analysis, and rendering of geometrical structures. The same regions can also be used as specifications for many high-level solvers, including algebraic and partial differential equation solving. The possibilities of Mathematica are endless.

Puntos a favor:

I became familiar with the "Mathematica" calculation tool, used for numerical and symbolic computation and for 2D and 3D graphics. I learned to apply it to geometry, to differential calculus and to the management of experimental data in physics Only with intensive use of Wolfram Mathematica , I've see Einstein's theory of relativity in real life and the Riemann Tensor and the Curvature of Ricci , after designed ellipses, torus, hyperboloids and Calabi- Yau spaces. Wolfram Mathematica it's a special tool for the visualization of differential geometry.

Contras:

1.By default, autosave to a Mathematica notebook is missing and the notebook can disappear along with several hours of work, when I forget to manually save. 2. It happened to me. I have imported a dxf file generated in AutoCAD into Mathematica and processed it, when I exported it, the file doesn't load successfully in AutoCAD.

massimo
massimo
Assistant Professor en EE. UU.
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

It's the Macintosh of the interpreted software languages, it just works right out of the box!

5,0 hace 5 años

Puntos a favor:

The most critical feature of Mathematica (and Wolfram products in general) is that everything is seamlessly perfectly integrated. Everything is curated and maintained up to date. Competing platforms like Matlab sure offer a larger set of functionalities, but the integration of the many "packages" is too often very poor. In Mathematica, every package is fully integrated with the rest of the platform like no other software. Maybe you can say that Labview somehow reaches the same level of integration. Mathematica is a very flexible and multi-purpose software language that can be used for programming pretty much anything. New functionality like "Cloud-deploy" allow anybody to run algorithm made in Mathematica from anywhere in the world, from any device, with the only need of having an internet connection and a compatible browser.

Contras:

Some secondary functionalities like the Presentation notebook are not so well developed, yet. That said, I doubt many will ever use it.

Mirza
Graduate Research Assistant en EE. UU.
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Ingeniería industrial o mecánica, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

A good alternative to MATLAB

5,0 hace 2 años

Comentarios: Overall it is a reasonably good software. If you are starting out and want to learn this software I'd recommend it. The ability to solve symbolically is awesome and easy. It is nice to solve your math problems in this compared to MATLAB. Mathematica is much prettier than others.

Puntos a favor:

The ability to solve symbolic mathematical equations is better compared to any other software. The graphing and data analysis capabilities are up to par. Not very difficult to learn. The working space is better than MATLAB. Lots of documentation and community help is available online. I mostly use it to solve symbolic math problems in my daily work. The output can be printed and shared with anyone and will seem like an understandable document.

Contras:

There is a learning curve to Mathematica. You have to get used to the interface and the language. You might like it a lot or you might hate it a lot. But as an engineer I feel it is better to be an all rounder or a jack of all trades.

Arshad
MS. Student en Pakistán
Educación superior, 501-1.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Wolfarm Mathematica.

5,0 el año pasado

Comentarios: I like wolfarm mathematica for its powerful exceutional engine that makes it able to simulate or visualize data very well.

Puntos a favor:

Mathematica has a great graphics user interface, and it does a fantastic job. It also has a lot of other advantages. It has a huge array of codes and library, though complex but powerful. Mathematica is without a doubt one of the most powerful programmes we use and has a very large and active online society to help in problems.

Contras:

What I find difficult about it is its learning curve, as Wolfram is a large language that can take some time to understand and use comfortably. Apart from that, I have no complaints about Wolfram Mathematica because it meets all of my requirements.

Francisco
Francisco
Customer Representative en Guatemala
Comercio minorista, 10.000+ empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

I'm a computer science student, can't believe how useful this learning engine is!

5,0 hace 4 años

Comentarios: Well my study sessions are way more effective, almost every question is answered by Wolfram. My grades are doing well, can't exclude Wolfram for that, this software has helped me a lot through the University and I'm super satisfied with it.

Puntos a favor:

Everything you need regarding math is in there: derivatives, integrals, closed integrals, matrix and vector operations... The list goes on and on! I really this program has helped me countless times with Calculus study sessions and passing through linear algebra courses. The procedure is printed in a ordered way and it does it step by step.

Contras:

The UI and operation input should and could be way better. I've used Symbolab and other apps and they are way better than Wolfram's input system. Please change it! Would really love to see you guys actually improve that.

Usuario verificado
Programmer en Armenia
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Software informático, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Powerful Computational Software

5,0 hace 3 años

Comentarios: I have been using Mathematica for three years, both in the context of my work and college. I have several applications written purely in Wolfram Language that I still use on a weekly basis. I have used Mathematica for solving differential equations and mechanics problems, building deep learning models and doing image processing. My most recent application is a function which takes as input video, audio or text and returns the key phrases and tags extracted from the speech/text.

Puntos a favor:

The thing that I like the most about Wolfram Mathematica is that it is incredibly versatile. It handles almost all of the facets of technical computing starting form simple algebraic equations, solving ordinary and partial differential equations to image/ audio processing and machine learning. Moreover, Mathematica also has incredibly powerful graphing and modeling capabilities. The interface is aesthetically pleasing and intuitive. The ability to add hierarchical cells is a big advantage and allows to format notebook in a beautiful way. Regarding the features, Wolfram Mathematica has almost everything you need. Moreover, it's ability to be integrated with C++, Python and other languages, makes it an exceptionally powerful application.

Contras:

The only thing that I dislike about Mathematica, is the fact that there is a certain learning curve, as Wolfram is a very vast language and it may take time to learn and use it comfortably. Other than that, there is nothing I dislike about Wolfram Mathematica, as it perfectly suits my needs.

Usuario verificado
Manager en EE. UU.
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Biotecnología, 1.001-5.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

A lifesaver for a lab with different levels of mathematical expertise!

5,0 hace 3 años

Comentarios: With this, you don't need to be able to develop complex programs to successfully complete routine calculation tasks. Our lab uses it to get accurate calculations for unit conversions as well as resuspension volumes, etc that usually take a while to calculate with excel or other data processing software. It's easy to use and can be customized given the right expertise.

Puntos a favor:

This software maes complex calculations that are routine a breeze to complete. We used to use excel for our calculations, which required really complex formulas typed in to the formula bar that were easily corrupted by an accidental click. Additionally, you had to be really familiar with the spreadsheet already in order to use the formula. With Wolfram, we have automated much of our routine calculations, such as titrations and reconstitutions. The formulas are already built in and require very little calculation on the user's part. Everything as simple as converting millimoles to micromoles, all the way to more complex tasks such as calculating dilution factors, can all be done quickly and has improved both accuracy and productivity in the lab.

Contras:

In order to make many of the calculations and formulas relevant to our particular needs in the lab, we needed a person who was highly competent with program design and logic. For the longest time we were stuck with only using the basic functions until finally someone more familiar with computers in general helped us to design custom functions.

Siavash
Student en EE. UU.
Ingeniería civil, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Wolfram is so great for symbolic mathematics

5,0 hace 3 años

Puntos a favor:

It has a great symbolic tool box great for solving very complex mathematical equations.

Contras:

As someone who is used to regular coding languages like c. The coding in mathematica is initially hard to learn.

Zouheir
Assistant Professor en EE. UU.
Administración educativa, 1.001-5.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Poor Customer Service

4,0 hace 3 años

Comentarios: I had to call quite a few times before getting an answer which at the end turned out to be complete​ nonsense. I 've just acquired a license for my own use and install it on a MAC. However, since the OS Catalina update, my license stopped​ working and required an update from Mathematica "32-bit app compatibility with macOS High Sierra 10.13.4 and later". I contacted Wolframe thinking that they would be understanding in providing a free upgrade. "No way" was their answer.

Puntos a favor:

Great software which has been very useful to me for more than 12 years now.

Contras:

I was really surprised by​ their poor customer support.

Ludimila Silva
Researcher / student en Brasil
Administración educativa, 10.000+ empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
Fuente de la reseña

Wolfram Mathematica is a powerful calculation and programming tool for engineer

5,0 hace 2 años

Comentarios: In general, it is a piece of software that helps me a lot to develop quality notebooks for the implementation of calculations required in my area. In any case, it is a fundamental software for me to have good results.

Puntos a favor:

The software has incredible calculation features, as well as functions that make it extremely easy to solve extremely complex equations. In addition, it has a website where you can ask questions, get support, exchange information with other users and access tutorials that make using tools much easier. The software can be used by civil engineers, mechanical engineers, mathematicians, physicists, among others in the exact area. The more practice and development with software, the easier it is to carry out your projects.

Contras:

Some functions and tools are not so easy to use and require some study applied to them. It is also possible to get results from some equations and not be sure if it is right.

yehuda
Research en Israel
Redes informáticas, 501-1.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña
Fuente: SoftwareAdvice

Good for (almost) everything

5,0 el mes pasado Nuevo

Comentarios: Use it daily for more than 30 years now

Puntos a favor:

This software allows you to think and program at the level of the problem at hand. The possibility to combine, symbolics, numerics, great visualization and wonderful smart programming languages is unique. In addition, the front-end allows you to easily document and structure your thoughts along with code.

Contras:

Only one programming model I found missing - discrete event style

Usuario verificado
Student en EE. UU.
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Administración educativa, 501-1.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

An application that you can use to do calculation and solve complex mathematical problems.

5,0 hace 2 años

Comentarios: I have been using this platform to solve many complex mathematical problems like integration, differentiation etc. Also I used it to make presentation slides one time and it was quite nice.

Puntos a favor:

By using this platform, It is very easy to solve complex mathematical problems . Also It can be used to perform computation and solving statistical problems.

Contras:

I think the cost of installation is high so it would be much better for a student like me if the cost can be reduced . Also sometime I feel that Mathematica language is slightly harder to understand for me.

Usuario verificado
Research Scholar en India
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Administración educativa, 1.001-5.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

A useful mathematical tool

5,0 el año pasado

Comentarios: I have been using Mathematica for the last 4 years both for my research and clas work. It hase been very useful to me, and my experience with Mathematica has been exceptional.

Puntos a favor:

It has a wide range of mathematical feature ranging from linear algebra to complex differential calculus. This platform is very easy to use as it is pretty intuitive.

Contras:

One of the biggest shortcomings of this platform is its failure to identify or point out the error in the code/programming. The cost can be a barrier too.

Anand
Anand
research scholar en India
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Administración educativa, 5.001-10.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña

Mathematica: one tool for all mathematics

4,0 hace 2 años

Comentarios: I am very happy with the product. It helps me in my research on mathematical modeling.

Puntos a favor:

Mathematica is very easy to use or user-friendly software. It covers a very wide range of mathematical operations that can be performed on it. Things I like the most about it are 1. The user-friendly script that can be written in very simple common language. 2. Support for algebraic symbolic calculations. 3. Faster processing.

Contras:

There is only one thing that I dislike about the product is its online module. While working on an online module on Mathematica it is very restricted and does not provide many options compared to the offline module. It needs to be upgraded.

Usuario verificado
Summer Intern en EE. UU.
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Software informático, 1.001-5.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
Fuente de la reseña

Unparalleled Mathematic Computing Capabilities

5,0 hace 2 años

Comentarios: If Mathematica suits your needs for computational power, it is an unparalleled and invaluable tool to have at your disposal.

Puntos a favor:

Mathematica is a powerful computation and analytical coding framework. While not as versatile as similar computing languages, Mathematica is simple enough to use in day-to-day computations but powerful enough for any project. its visualization tools are very powerful, allowing you to easily view and manage data in both 2D and 3D sets. Its integration with additional packages is very powerful, and updated frequently. For symbolic mathematics, there is no competitor quite as powerful as Mathematica.

Contras:

Given that it is a coding framework, the barrier to entry can be quite high to people without a programming background. Strict syntax rules dictate that functions be written precisely and correctly, or else you'll run into errors or unexpected behavior. While Mathematica doesn't have the worst error checking I've seen in some programming languages, it lacks on-the-fly error checking. The cost of Mathematica can seem prohibitive, but if Mathematica suits your needs it can easily make up for its cost in time savings.

Daniel
Daniel
Asistente ejecutivo superior en Venezuela
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Wonderful!without wolfram I would not have approved the course of calculus applied in the university

5,0 hace 4 años

Puntos a favor:

wolfram is a marvel, just transcribe the equation in the software and in a few seconds not only solves it, but also explains step by step the resolution of the exercise and the different ways of doing it. I consider that it is the best ally for the student at any level of academic training. It is useful for students of engineering, economics, business administration, accounting, physics, mathematics.... in wolfram mathematical and physical equations can be solved. no matter the complexity of an integral or a differential equation, wolfram solves it

Contras:

Sometimes it can be somewhat difficult to transcribe an equation in the software. Maybe if the programmers of wolfram add some integrals and predetermined equations, it could help to mount the exercises more easily

Richard
Richard
Product Manager en Colombia
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Automoción, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Wolfram Mathematica makes it easier to develop knowledge in the area of mathematics and programming.

5,0 hace 5 años

Comentarios: The ability to develop equations and to learn step by step how to solve them. Wolfram made my job easier and more practical and helped me save time and to create new projects by using programming.

Puntos a favor:

Resolution of equations well explained and organized step by step as well as graphs that are self explanatory and have the possibility to add annotations and to choose the type of graph to be used. It also has the possibility of storing data in the cloud and to access it anywhere. Wolfram Mathematica is great for programming and it gives the possibility of exploring other areas such as language and geography by using mathematics and programming.

Contras:

Takes a while to learn the basics commands of some areas of the software such as introducing equations into the system or start programming if you are still learning.

Bhawin
Researcher en EE. UU.
Educación superior, 1.001-5.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Great platform to calculate, integrate and so on.

5,0 hace 3 años

Puntos a favor:

This is a very useful software in physics and engineering. We can download and install in our computer via our university link. It is very easy to use. Sometimes people from Wolfram come to our university to run a workshop about wolfram mathematica. Besides mathematica, I use wolfram alpha frequently.

Contras:

Some computational work and big data analysis in Nuclear physics may be difficult using Wolfram Mathematica.

Rodrigo
PhD en RU
Investigación, 1.001-5.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
Fuente de la reseña

The best software for symbolic mathematics

5,0 hace 4 años

Comentarios: I have solve a wide variety of problems, from simple calculations to very complicated symbolic analyses. In the faculty is normally favoured for more abstract analyses which don't necessarily involve finite precision arithmetic, but it can obviously be used for that as well.

Puntos a favor:

This software is extremely well suited for symbolic mathematics. Where MATLAB excels in numerical handling, Mathematica excels in symbolic mathematics. I have used this software for stochastic analysis, namely Markov Chain analysis. It is very useful as well for topology and graph theory and not only helps by solving complex systems but makes beautiful graphs needed in topological analysis. I have also used it in optimization contexts, to draw the feasible regions of complex functions. It is simply an extremely robust and versatile piece of mathematical software.

Contras:

At the beginning is not very easy to use because small errors in syntax will render a big function useless; hopefully for simple things it is well integrated with Wolfram Alpha, which can interpret more natural expression the transported to Mathematica.