15 años ayudando a las empresas argentinas
a elegir el mejor software

Sobre Wordfast Pro

Solución local que ayuda a las empresas a traducir textos, eliminar posibles errores y exportar tablas bilingües para revisión.

Descubre más sobre Wordfast Pro

Puntos a favor:

All the basic functions of Trados but much easier to use and better price. I have worked with Wordfast products for 12 years now.

Contras:

Wordfast is as difficult as the other ones. Make sure you store your TMs where they won't be erased by a windows or iOs update.

Valoraciones de Wordfast Pro

Evaluación media

Facilidad de uso
3,9
Atención al cliente
4,0
Funcionalidades
4,3
Relación calidad-precio
4,5

Probabilidad de recomendación

7,9/10

Wordfast Pro tiene una valoración global de 4,3 estrellas sobre 5 según las 29 opiniones de usuarios de Capterra.

¿Ha utilizado Wordfast Pro antes?

Comparte tu experiencia con otros compradores de software.

Filtrar opiniones (29)

Catharine
Catharine
French to English Sworn Translator en Reunión
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Traducción y localización, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Good choice of CAT tool!

5,0 hace 5 años

Comentarios: I started out using Wordfast Pro 3 in 2010, and was pretty satisfied, and have now moved on to WFP 5 which is even better in my opinion.

Puntos a favor:

Wordfast Pro is one of the only Mac-compatible CAT tools on the market. It is regularly updated and good value for money in terms of the gain of time for productivity. There are Facebook and Yahoo user groups to help you with any queries you might have (as well as a hotline, although I've rarely had to use it), and a demo version if you want to try WFP out for free first.

Contras:

Some compatibility problems when working with colleagues or agencies who use different CAT tools. But in my case this is the exception rather than the norm. On starting I generally need to launch it at least twice (if not more) for it start without crashing.

Przemek
Przemek
Translator en Polonia
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Traducción y localización, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

My main platform

4,0 hace 2 años

Comentarios: Wordfast Pro is my main CAT app which Have been literally using on a daily basis. It is the only one that natively runs on a Mac and that's the reason that I initially invested in it. App is compatible with Trados and most (if not all) file formats which are used in the translation industry. I have a ton of projects, all my TM and term bases and Wordfast manages all of that for me.

Puntos a favor:

Wordfast Pro has amazing customer service. They literally respond with ready-to-implement solutions within minutes. It works with all file types.

Contras:

The user interface (As fast as colours are concerned) feels somewhat antiquated. Some options which apply to a file within a project are available from the project perspective only. Some other options (for example to export Trados return package) are available only upon the closure of a project which feels somewhat strange as all the other options are available from the main project window). The app offers a plethora of options (even local OCR) and I feel that new functions have been continuously added over time and that's why sometimes their location feels illogical.

Respuesta de Wordfast

hace 2 años

Thanks for the feedback, Przemek! I'll be sure to pass it along to the hotline support team.

Usuario verificado
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Traducción y localización, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Wordfast - fair value for money - and works on both PC and MAC

3,0 hace 5 años

Comentarios: Enhances my speed and quality as translator - works both on my mac and PC. Does most of the file formats on the markets fairly easy. Much cheaper than most other CAT tools

Puntos a favor:

Easy to use the simple features good efficiency and quick translations

Contras:

Support is not useful in any way - actually the best and quickest support is a user forum on Facebook

Usuario verificado
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Traducción y localización, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

A perfectly serviceable CAT tool

4,0 hace 5 años

Comentarios: A colleague of mine who has worked with other CAT tools described WF Pro as a pasta maker--you need to keep putting things in, let it churn, and then it spits other things out. It takes a while to learn which specific rules are important to WF, otherwise it will return errors and hold the project hostage. At different stages of the process, file naming conventions matter. At other stages, the location of the files matter. It takes a lot of trial and error in the beginning to work through these quirks, but like any CAT tool, the more time you put into learning it, the better off you'll be, as we have found these quirks to at least be consistent.

Puntos a favor:

Once the quirks are understood, the program is fairly predictable and robust. It serves to help us maintain consistency and lower costs when feasible on large, repeated translation projects.

Contras:

The version we use lacks some of the modern add ons that are now offered by the competitive products. For example, we needed to write our own script for working with JSON files, which can be natively handled by other CAT tools without any special customization.

Usuario verificado
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Traducción y localización, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Mac-friendly, user-friendly, productivity-friendly!

4,0 hace 5 años

Comentarios: It boosts productivity with its filtering features (I can translate all the short segments at the end of a long day if I'm not feeling particularly on top of my game), it also allows me to use Google Translate for machine translation post-editing jobs. It is a dream to use on my Mac, and I don't need to worry about Parallels or any Windows environment.

Puntos a favor:

I like most that it's quick and easy to use, and that it works perfectly on a Mac. One other thing I love about Wordfast is that it has enabled me to continue working with a client who had required Trados.

Contras:

Sometimes there are unexplained errors and I don't always understand the messages. And it does occasionally crash for no apparent reason.

Francesca
Translator en España
Traducción y localización, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

A somewhat simpler CAT tool that works well

4,0 hace 8 meses

Comentarios: Very happy with WFP. As I said, I'm not very technological, so was delighted to find a CAT tool I could learn to use without great difficulty

Puntos a favor:

I am IT-challenged, but managed to learn how to use WFP without having to take a course, so that's definitely a plus

Contras:

I am aware that I am not using it to its full potential. I think it's easy to get to know the basics, not so easy to really master it

Respuesta de Wordfast

hace 8 meses

Thanks Francesca for your review and feedback! If you feel like you have reached a plateau (using 20% of the features 80% of the time), you can purchase recorded training videos at wordfast.com/train as well as videos on more advanced topics from our user conference at wordfast.com/conference/2022/session_recordings

Stefan
Stefan
Lecturer en Alemania
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Traducción y localización, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

My CAT tool of choice

5,0 hace 5 años

Comentarios: Wordfast Pro 3 and 5 are my CAT tools of choice, I've been using v.3 ever since it came out. They are indispensable in my daily translation work. However, because they still lack some important functionality, I still have to use SDL Trados and MemoQ.

Puntos a favor:

The user interface is not cluttered, functions and features are easy to access. Single-window project creation is a big advantage over the competition. The price is affordable.

Contras:

Incorrect number formatting in auto suggest for my language, lack of support for regular-expressions-delimited text files.

Cler
Text editor en Ucrania
, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña

Helps simplify work

5,0 hace 6 años

Puntos a favor:

Despite the fact that the program is oriented, first of all, to freelance translators, yet it is useful for its functionality and proofreaders, and editors. Its huge advantage is the availability of a free version.

Contras:

Online version of Wordfast for some reason regularly hangs, but after rebooting the page it works as it should. Perhaps this problem does not exist in all browsers.

Respuesta de Wordfast

hace 6 años

Thanks Cler Sura. If you continue to experience hanging problems, please submit feedback directly to the developers via the Help tab (Support/Report icon). Thanks again!

D'Emilio
D'Emilio
Director en Argentina
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Traducción y localización, 11-50 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Best TM tool for translators

5,0 hace 5 años

Comentarios: I’ve been a Wordfast user since 2008, I went through different versions of this software and it never let me down. I became such a fun of it that I started teaching to my colleagues how to use it.

Puntos a favor:

Wordfast is a very easy to use software, affordable, it saves your time and makes you to improve the quality of your translations.

Contras:

None. I have no negative experience with Wordfast.

Usuario verificado
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Reliable CAT tool for the professional translator. Good value for money.

4,0 hace 7 años

Comentarios: A CAT tool with the usual functionalities. More affordable than other options.

Puntos a favor:

By using Wordfast Pro I can reach a wider customer base, since it is the CAT tool some of my clients prefer. It offers enough features for the freelance translator and can handle almost any type of format. Also, it runs on Windows, Mac and Linux. At 400 EUR for the Classic version, it is more affordable than competitors such as SDL Trados. A 30-day trial of Wordfast Classic is available if you wish to try before you buy.

Contras:

Wordfast Pro is not as visually appealing as some of its competitors. There is a certain learning curve with the software, but it is to be expected of any full-fledged CAT tool.

Anna
Translator en Austria
Traducción y localización, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Licensing NEVER works as promised

4,0 hace 3 años

Comentarios: How can they promise that a license will work in the next 2 hours and then they just do nothing? Last time they said it was "technical issues with their licensing server", I wonder what it will be this time. Not much "pro" in Wordfast Pro.

Puntos a favor:

When it works, it works. All the basic functions of Trados but much easier to use and better price. I have worked with Wordfast products for 12 years now.

Contras:

This is the 3rd time I have an issue with the license renewal. Last time I lost a half day of work, this time I might actually miss a deadline and potentially lose a client. After paying for the license renewal, I received an email that the license would be activated within 2 hours. Now several hours have passed and nothing happened. No reply from Customer support and m day in the office is almost over. This is extremely frustrating. I should have known better this time, it`s disappointing how unreliable this company is.

Respuesta de Wordfast

hace 2 años

Dear Anna, We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with our hotline when renewing your license. Our replies to your hotline requests may have ended up in your spam inbox. We replied to your initial ticket 32057202 the same day you sent it (February 16, 2021) and the follow up ticket 32059582 (February 18, 2021) the same day as well. We never got a response from you. We send users an email 30 days before their license is set to expire to remind them about the renewal and to encourage them to renew before their license expires and avoid any interruption of service. Please consider whitelisting our domain names wordfast.com and wordfast.net to ensure you get this reminder and our hotline responses. Kind regards,

Anja
Senior Content Editor en EE. UU.
Tecnología y servicios de la información, 501-1.000 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

We have used it for over 5 years and never really had any problems with it

4,0 hace 7 años

Comentarios: Tremendous help with our translation projects

Puntos a favor:

It is user friendly and intuitive (even for people who have no previous experience of translation software) and covers our needs very well

Contras:

The latest upgrade has made it considerably more complex than previously. Time will tell if we will keep using it or switch to a simpler software (we don't have very complex needs in the team)

Respuesta de Wordfast

hace 7 años

Thanks Anja for taking the time to review Wordfast Pro. We would love to get your feedback about the latest upgrade so we can improve. Please submit it under the Help tab via the Feedback icon. Thanks in advance!

Guillaume
Consultant en Francia
Tecnología y servicios de la información, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña

Flexible and reliable

4,0 hace 3 años

Comentarios: You can easily get up and running with this tool. It's easier (and cheaper) than the other ones I've tried. It's very powerful, smart and "all-terrain". However pay attention on the location where you store your TM and glossaries, and backup regularly.

Puntos a favor:

I love the fact it can read, translate and export lots of different formats. xilf of sure, it's basic. But also Word, Powerpoint, Excel. That's a huge time saver when the source is not in a CAT tool format.

Contras:

All CaT tools are hard to set up and hard to maintain over time. Wordfast is as difficult as the other ones. Make sure you store your TMs where they won't be erased by a windows or iOs update... That should be by default IMHO or Cloud solution should be by default.

Respuesta de Wordfast

hace 3 años

Thanks for your review Guillaume! We actually advise against storing your TMs and glossaries on the cloud. Constant synchronization slows your computer and your databases can get corrupted if they are opened on two different computers at the same time. Saving them to your hard drive and backing them up monthly to an external drive should be sufficient.

Santa
IT-manager en Ucrania
, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
Fuente de la reseña

Also allows you to use "smart" memory

4,0 hace 6 años

Puntos a favor:

The system is almost in no way inferior to the same Trados, but is distributed free of charge. This is a big plus. It is worth noting that for me this has become a determining factor. Why pay for something, if the same can be obtained for free? With its tasks, the system manages quite, though imperfectly.

Contras:

It is difficult to work with a large amount of data, especially if there is a lot of graphics. Often the link does not handle correctly. There are many other minor shortcomings. We are waiting for the next update.

Joseph
Swahili Translator en Kenia
Traducción y localización, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña

Most Affordable CAT Tool

4,0 hace 4 años

Comentarios: This translation tool is awesome, very affordable and has many documentations and tutorials.

Puntos a favor:

This has got to be the most affordable cat tool i have ever used. Besides price, it has all the major features that the most expensive tools have. I love their 'big 50% discount' for freelance translator living and working in a developing economy! This a tool that truly caters for translator and do care about their not-so-deep-pockets.

Contras:

They have too many products 5, this can be confusing especially for beginners. The renewal part is also a let down, after 3 years you must renew a license on an item you bought legally! Their trial version has some features which you cannot use meaning its not fully unlocked.

Respuesta de Wordfast

hace 4 años

Thank you for your review, Joseph. All of our licenses have three-year terms and include all upgrades and tech support. Upon renewal, you get a 50% discount, in addition to the 50% discount for developing economies. That comes out to roughly $38 per year after the initial three-year period.

Yannick
Yannick
Translator en Suiza
Traducción y localización, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de dos años
Fuente de la reseña

Interesting Translation Management Tool

4,0 hace 4 años

Comentarios: I have used Wordfast for a few projects and everything went relatively smoothly. I recommend giving it a try, it's overall worth it.

Puntos a favor:

The translation memory is the most interesting feature I have came across with this software, especially useful for technical marketing texts with a lot of repetition.

Contras:

It's not the easiest translation management tool I have had the opportunity to use, it has many different features but not all are clear regarding the way to use them.

Respuesta de Wordfast

hace 2 años

Thank you for your review, Yannick.

Eric
Web-trainer en Ucrania
, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña

A powerful application that helps in work

5,0 hace 6 años

Puntos a favor:

I was attracted to frequent updates and the availability of a free version. The program does not take up much space and is undemanding to resources. On the possibilities it is quite comparable with the same Trados. It is a collection of MS Word macros. It is convenient to use the function of intellectual memory - when the program remembers the result of the previous work.

Contras:

Sometimes the program crashes when working with complex documents. The program has difficulties in processing hyperlinks or graphic elements. I have to split the document into several parts.

Usuario verificado
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Traducción y localización, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: Prueba gratis
Fuente de la reseña

I really, really like this CAT tool!

5,0 hace 5 años

Comentarios: It has been good overall. Especially with specialised translations Which are very repetitive and have the same terminology. It's quicker for any translator in these types of áreas.

Puntos a favor:

Where do I begin? I absolutely love the friendly interface, it's very familiar and it doesn't freak you out as a first time user (which did happen to me with other CAT tools). The fact that it's a part of Microsoft word makes everything a lot simpler. Most commands are the same as other CAT tools so it's also a plus. And you can learn to use it and actually work on it for free (perfect for freelancers starting out).

Contras:

I don't like the limited free version, I feel you should get a full idea on the TM feature in order to really get into it.

Eric
System Engineer en Ucrania
, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: Más de un año
Fuente de la reseña

Convenient function of Translation Memory

4,0 hace 6 años

Puntos a favor:

I like that the program allows you to use Translation Memory. The package is constantly updated and distributed free of charge. You can create a convenient glossary. Setting up the program does not require professional skills. It has a simple and intuitive interface. The possibilities are also very decent.

Contras:

Constantly you need to control the program manually, you can not completely rely on it. Sometimes it does not work correctly. Brakes when working with large files.

Shirley
Web-analyst en Ucrania
, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
Fuente de la reseña

The best choice for translators and other specialists

5,0 hace 6 años

Puntos a favor:

She came up to me because it is very simple and not overloaded with unnecessary features. Also with its help I can translate faster, because by making a translation of just once words or even sentences - all information is stored in the database and, next time, I can use my own, the previous translation.

Contras:

Now I use the free version, I need a permanent connection to the Internet. The speed seems to be normal, but I would like it faster.

Respuesta de Wordfast

hace 6 años

Thanks for the review Shirley! You can get a free 30-day trial license for Wordfast Pro 5 on our website in case you want to try a desktop solution. It eliminates the need for an internet connection and is much faster.

Samuel
Software en EE. UU.
Telecomunicaciones, 2-10 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 1-5 meses
Fuente de la reseña

TM tool that can speed up you work

3,0 el año pasado

Comentarios: It was my first ever TM tool.

Puntos a favor:

It really helped me speed up my initial work. I used it on a project of 80k+ words and did it in less time than usual.

Contras:

Although it is a good tool, I found cheaper and better competitor tools.

Respuesta de Wordfast

el año pasado

Dear Samuel, Thank you for your review. Could you please share which competitor tools you are referring to? Comparing pricing is challenging. Our last analysis of our main competitors revealed that the cost of a comparable, fully-updated tool with tech support for 9 years would cost the following: Wordfast: $960 ($107/yr) MemoQ: $2,002 ($222/yr) Trados: $3,315 ($368/yr) Furthermore, Wordfast Pro includes multilingual project creation and package support. Kind regards, John

Usuario verificado
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
Fuente de la reseña

It was very quick and easy to learn how to use and really helped with a few time saving tools.

4,0 hace 6 años

Puntos a favor:

What I like the most about this translation tool is that you can customise it just like you would any other word document and certainly helps when you have your own quick little attachments to do things your own way and have a software that feels made for you. Also, it has the amazing feature of supporting several types of documents and files, which can be easier for freelance work plus it has great automated translation features like endless translation memory that works wonders with repetitive segments that are very common in specialised translation. It also can work with Mac or Linux.

Contras:

Probably the price. A starting freelance translator really wouldn't have a lot of money, however it's a great tool for freelance workers to begin with. So, there's a little bit of a dilemma.

Usuario verificado
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Traducción y localización, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: 6-12 meses
Fuente de la reseña

Can't forget your first love

4,0 hace 2 años

Comentarios: Wordfast is the first CAT Tool I learned to use when I was a student. At the time I didn't even know there were so many similar tools out there, hence my complete fascination with it, as it allowed me to translate faster and more consistently. I then discovered other tools, which translation agencies seem to prefer, but Wordfast remains my first love!

Puntos a favor:

It's quick and easy to use, with a simple user interface. It can handle virtually any format and works on Mac as well. It is also very affordable in comparison to other tools, which is a big plus.

Contras:

No cons to me, except for the fact that my clients tend to prefer a different CAT Tool, so in the end I decided to switch to it.

Respuesta de Wordfast

hace 2 años

Thanks for your review! If you decide to use Wordfast again, remember that you simply have to renew your license instead of buying a new one.

Anna
Human Resourse Director en Bielorrusia
Software informático, 51-200 empleados
Ha utilizado el software durante: 1-5 meses
Fuente de la reseña

Good alternative to Trados

5,0 hace 5 años

Puntos a favor:

I liked the program primarily because its configuration did not require the presence of professional skills, as well as preliminary study. During operation, the system consumes few resources.

Contras:

One of the worst support services I have come across. You can wait for an answer to a question within a few days, so you often have to look for a solution yourself.

Brent
Brent
Operator en Canadá
Usuario de Linkedin verificado
Diseño, Trabajador autónomo
Ha utilizado el software durante: 1-5 meses
Fuente de la reseña

Amazing Product!

4,0 hace 6 años

Comentarios: So far everything i have needed it for it has saved me and helped me get projects done so fast

Puntos a favor:

How much easier it made my work and help me get stuff done on time!

Contras:

That i didn't find this software sooner, i found it super easy to use